Too Much Drama

Over the past few weeks the drama component in my life has been increasing slightly bit by bit until today it finally came to a head.  To say the least, I was stunned for a few moments, gave my head a shake and thought “Huh?”  I realize that within any type of relationship there are times when miscommunication will happen.  I also realize that there are times when bringing up past conversations will happen as well.

Hold on, I’ll back things up a moment.  I tend to be the type of person who has a conversation with someone and if I see them next week will have no idea what I last said to them.  Hell most days I don’t remember what I had for breakfast, so I now have the same thing to keep things consistent and so I only have to remember one thing.  So when someone brings up a past conversation (could have been two days ago or two years ago) and that conversation came to a conclusion, I’ve forgotten about the details and only remember the conclusion – ‘ok got it no tickling’ or ‘ok got it interest only payments’.  The details are gone.

So when someone brings up a past conversation once I try to tell them – I have no idea what you’re talking about.  If it happens a second time, I try to sit them down and quietly explain “I have no freaking idea what your talking about.  If it’s in the past, it’s in the past.  It’s not that I don’t care, it’s not relevant to me today.”  If it happens a third time, I complain about it on my blog and send them an email.  If it happens a forth time, I try to limit the amount of time that I spend with that person as they’re just not getting it and we’re going to get into frustrating disagreements over who said what and the meaning of said discussion.  Too much drama.

I prefer to live my life this way – what has happened in the past is in the past.  I cannot change it, I try not to relive it, and if it’s really important I’ll take a picture or a video.  I live for today.  Chances are that today I’ll say something that contradicts what I said yesterday – or yesteryear – because I’m continuously growing and learning new things each day.  If it’s something that I care about and I’m putting a fair bit of time into thinking about it, I’ll probably change my mind in the future.   Concerning the future, I’ll do my best to influence it, avoid making the same mistakes as the past and try not to live in a fantasy world of make believe.

It’s not that I don’t like drama – love seeing it on tv – it’s just that I don’t have a lot of time for it right now.  Maybe people need to take a deep breath and ask themselves “would he intentionally go for the worst case scenario?” or “would he really do that – cause it really pisses me off?”  I try not to be a prick and chances are that there is something being misinterpreted and could be corrected by asking a few pointed questions.

Life is too short to be caught up in drama.  I plan on living each day like it’s my last and looking for the next big adventure.  Have fun!

Leave a Reply

