30 years ago…….

Happy 30th Birthday!  Yippee!

Ok, I’ll admit that a week ago I was not as happy.  For as long as I can remember, I’ve dreaded birthdays.  They seem to creep up on me around the same time of year the weather goes from happy and joyous to absolute misery and wetness.

I started the day off by waking up like most days around 5:20am.  This time I promptly went back to sleep until 7:30am.

Sleepy!

I managed a quick trip into the metropolis of Alliston to get a few things, then I was able to start my adventure!  I drove north into Creemore to find an elusive beer that is sold at a gas station.  Well it’s technically not beer – there’s no alcohol content.  You buy the 2L bottle for less than $5 and then you pop in a yeast pill and wait for 14 days.  After 14 days, you can say “NOW I have beer!”  Couldn’t find it and wasn’t really willing to get out of the car to look around gas stations (yes there are two gas stations in Creemore) for a beverage that I would have to wait 14 days to consume.  This trip was all about today and living in the moment.

Rolling rolling rolling

 

Mudders on a dump truck

I continued driving north through the lively and vivacious town of Stayner and watched all of the little teenie boppers march from the high school to Tim Hortons for their caffeine fix and lunch.  Normally, I’d say good for them, but it just so happens that Tim Hortons had a little trouble with homophobia (see related articles here and here and here and here and here) and I did not feel like joining the teenie boppers for homophobe coffee.

Onwards north I hit the junction between Wasaga Beach and Collingwood – where you go from 80 km/h down to 60km/h if you’re lucky.  I was not – 45km/h in a line of 20 cars all slowly making their way to Collingwood.  Eventually I made it to Collingwood, drove around a little bit and decided to grab something to eat.  Fast food was out of the question (I’m 30 now I have to watch what I eat!) and I wanted to find something within walking distance to the lake shore.

I parked and paid a total of $0.50 for an hour of parking then walked to the Huron Club.  I selected a veggie and chicken curry that did not disappoint and washed it down with a pint of Creemore beer (ever since I drove through the town I was thinking about it non-stop).  I paid my bill and walked north to the lake shore.  I dipped my toe into Georgian Bay, took some pictures as mementos, then walked back and made the drive back south.

Creemore Beer at The Huron Club

 

Delicious veggie and chicken curry at The Huron Club
Walking along Georgian Bay
Collingwood Grain Elevators

I opted for the non-geriatric traffic jammed route back towards Wasaga Beach and headed straight south along the Collingwood Airport.  The road went from ‘paved and smooth’, to ‘paved in the 80’s’, to ‘unpaved and bumpy’ to ‘holy shit I’m now a rally car driver!’  Needless to say it was fun and the view was amazing.

The Ridge
Reno'd Barn with windows

Dinner was amazing and I spent two hours in a sauna.  The celebration is not over as I will be in Toronto later on this week to catch up with people that I did not see on Oct 25th.  It also turns out that my body can feed 74 hungry weasals – how about you?

How many hungry weasels could your body feed?

Created by Oatmeal
Points for the past two days:

  • Oct 25th – Day 26 – 64 points
  • Oct 26th – Day 27 – 92 points
The goal for the rest of the week remains the same – increase income by 10% and get a minimum of 63 points each day.  I have not done any fitness for the past two days, but I have had a few new projects come into my inbox.  Today was basically a recovery day to prep for tomorrow.  I’m aiming for the best day ever tomorrow and I’m armed with 5 questions that will turn everything around.
It should also be noted that all of the landscape pictures were taken with my little blackberry while driving at least 85 km/h.
2 thoughts on “30 years ago…….”

Leave a Reply

