Get Set!

1%

How hard could it be?  Each day, focus on being 1% better than the last in all aspects of life.

I remember a few years back when I was the facilitator for the Summer Company program in Guelph, that one of the participants commented “you are an intimidating person to talk to”.  I guess since that day I’ve softened my stance when talking to people about a variety of topics, however this past week I found myself getting into my old groove.  I remember being so driven and in control when I started my first business, and losing that feeling after several failed careers / business ventures.  Now, well now, I have my mojo back!

In life there will always be setbacks, delays, unforeseen costs, etc that will sap and drain a person to the point of wanting to give up.  It’s something great to watch when someone goes from having no hope as they feel that they have been abandoned by the world, to being given that one ray of hope that they turn into an opportunity that they exploit.  Heck, it’s even great when someone is given an idea or different perspective that they can use to change their life in profound ways.

This week I went to BNI again for the first time in a few months.  It was great to see some old faces and new ones.  However my pitch when it was my turn to speak was “do you know anyone who needs help with their business in the next few weeks?”  So far, I’ve had two people take me up on my offer and I’m seeing both of them today.

As of right now, I have no idea when I will be back in Japan.  There are a few things that have to be taken care of at certain points in time which has meant that my departure for Asia has been delayed.  I’m guessing that it will be sometime in August, although it may be sooner.

That’s it for now.  Time to get this day started and find a 1% improvement before I leave this morning.

Leave a Reply

