Heading Back To Sendai

Well it’s almost official – I’ll be heading back to Sendai soon.   Land and real estate prices are sure to drop in Sendai over the coming months, and there’s a group of guys in Canada who are eager to start an agricultural project that should help ease the concerns of radiated vegetables coming from Tohoku region.

Without going into too much detail, this project should be fulfil a few personal requirements:

1.  Solve the food issue with produce being grown in Tohoku region.

2.  Create jobs (so important over the coming months in helping Sendai rebuild)

3.  Create a sustainable and environmentally friendly business that can be replicated in other parts of the world

4.  Experienced management team that can be quickly deployed

5.  The business requireslittle startup capital and will become cash flow positive within six months

I’ll admit that when I got back to Toronto, the last thought on my mind was to head back to Sendai region to help start a new business (maybe another part of Japan, but Sendai was not at the top of the list).  Now I find a strange attraction to that part of Japan.  Maybe I’ll become one of the newly coined “flygin” and return to an office full of people who decided to stay and face weeks of ostracization and ridicule.  Or I can talk about the great vacation that I had on the other side of the world non-stop and brag about the great tan that I now have from the Toronto weather.
I’m still hammering out the details for the fundraiser next week.  I’ll keep everyone posted.  Signing off with one of my favourite quotes:

Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come.
We have only today. Let us begin.

Mother Teresa (1910–1997)
Albanian missionary
Nobel Peace Prize winner

Leave a Reply

