Shake It Baby!

Well it seems that I made it back in time to experience my first true earthquake – 7.2 on the Richter scale.  The epicenter was 200km off the coast of Sendai and it was about 3 minutes long with a couple of aftershocks thrown in for good measure to keep me on my toes.

You have to understand the situation that I was in – I’ve been working nights to keep up with things in Toronto, so at 12 noon when the earthquake struck I was asleep in bed.  I woke with a start – sunlight streaming into my face as I left the curtains open – wondering why the hell I was awake.  Then I felt the shaking, looking out the window to see the hydro lines bouncing up and down.

I jumped out of bed, looking around and trying hard not to panic.  What was I supposed to do – stand in a doorway?  Run outside?  I looked at the pile of clothes by the bed and I could see it now – being pulled out of the rubble stark naked or worse having to run down the stairs naked and stand outside wondering when this nightmare that had become my life would end.  Something crashed to the ground bringing me back to reality and I threw on some clothes and stood in the doorway and waited.  And waited.  And waited some more.  Three minutes in total.

It turns out that it was felt as a 4.5 in Sendai on the Richter scale – not so bad.  It created a small tsunami – half a meter in height with absolutely no chance of reaching North America.  I’m glad that’s over.

I’ve been debating what to do for my 30th birthday this year.  I’ll be doing some traveling next month and I’m pretty happy with how things are going here in Japan.  Big party?  Travel somewhere hot?  Do something new?  Any ideas?

I’m slightly concerned about the Plaid Revolution going on in Japan right now.  Everywhere I look I see people in plaid.  It must be the new thing – Farmer Chic.  I’ll find some pictures to share soon – my new mission for this week.

One thought on “Shake It Baby!”

Leave a Reply

