Whatever Happened To Daytime TV?

I guess it’s been a while since I’ve sat in front of a tv during the day in Japan or in Canada for that matter.  I was sitting at the table doing some work with the tv going in the background (I was feeling lonely) and all of a sudden it’s gone from news to exercises to one of Chopin’s songs with three ladies in leotards performing a mix of tai chi, aikido and the chicken dance.  I sat transfixed for a good minute then I wished that I had my computer hooked up to the tv – I couldn’t make it up better myself.  Then in a flash it was back to the news report about a fire in Sendai.

Ok I have a few videos and pictures to post for everyone but to be honest at this point in time I can’t be bothered.  I have a pile of clothes on the table right now that has to be packed into two bags and set in the front room.  Yes I am procrastinating, but not to the extent that I want to upload all of the pictures, categorize all of them, name them, then attach them to links so everyone can see.

Tomorrow is an early start at 5am with a quick workout, then heading for a car ride around 6am.  After that my last trip to downtown Sendai to get a few last minute gifts, mail off the last of the post cards, back home, dinner with a few people, then sleep and a 6am pickup to catch my 8am flight out of Sendai to Tokyo (Narita Airport).  Then it is a six hour wait before I have to clear security and another 2 hours afterwards to board the plane.  Then a 14 hour flight home to Toronto.  In otherwords, 24 hours of sitting, walking, pacing, stretching in a confined space (yes the airport is big, but it’s still a confining space).

Alright, time to get on with packing.  I’m going to listen to some Seth Godin while folding dress shirts and pants and stuffing suits into cramped little bags.  🙂

I almost forgot.  Today’s dinner involved my two favorite foods in Sendai – Kanako (Sri Lankan inspired dishes) and then three plates of sushi.  Oh and the wind was so bad that it ripped the air out of your lungs and made your clothes feel like they were in tatters (just getting ready for Canada).

Leave a Reply

