Fitness

One of the biggest concerns that I have right now is keeping fit.  This week I have been running everyday for 30-60 minutes depending on how I feel, but once the snow starts to fly I need to find something that I can do daily for one to two hours a day.

The local gyms are small and overpriced ($70-100 / month).  Many of them lack basic facilities that you would find in North America and those that do are not easily accessible from my apartment.  As well, many of the ice rinks and ski hills are on the outskirts of the city or a 30 minute drive (almost 2 hour bus ride) outside of the city.

I have yet to find any sort of yoga or pilates studios in the city.  That being said I do not know what the characters are for yoga in Japanese, so I may be walking beside a studio every day.

There is an indoor tennis and soccer club just down the road, but it is geared mainly towards children and I have yet to see anything in English (which means I have to get someone who speaks Japanese fluently to go and help get registered).

Which brings me to another point – I have yet to find an easy to understand book on basic Japanese phrases that is relevant to everday living.  I’ve found lots of books that focus on picking up people at bars and making sure that they are not a prostitute, and other absurdities, but nothing on the basics of daily living.

I think I’ll focus on getting some sort of Japanese lessons first and worry about winter fitness when the snow starts to fall.

I don't have to be able to read Japanese to understand this sign.
2 thoughts on “Fitness”

  1. Hahaha love the picture, but what does it mean… Joking! I assume only in Japan do they have entertaining cartoon pictures to depict the seriousness of their messages. Looks like fun to me.

  2. Thanks For Your Article!
    It’s very nice and useful for me.

    The winter is coming and snowboarding is the cool activity that we should not miss.
    Be prepared for the fun winter!
    Please come to our website to share the interesting information.

Leave a Reply

