Fall Festival

This Saturday is Tohoku International School’s Fall Festival. What is it exactly? I don’t know but I will get some pictures and videos up by Sunday. What I do know is that I will be heading downtown to get some size thirteen running shoes and then out to Izumi (suburb to the north west of downtown) to help set up tents for the Fall Festival on Friday and helping out wherever I can on Saturday.

I ventured out to the local 7-11 this morning around 6am to get some OJ and yogurt. OJ was no problem (pictures of oranges on the box helped) but the yogurt was with other milk drinks and diced fruit cups, so I spent an absurd amount of time shaking little cups to see if there were chunks, all liquid or yogurt. I was amazed at the variety of things available at the 7-11 and what was not available at a glance. I’ll post more on this later.

Walking back from the 7-11 I crossed paths with an elderly Japanese man slowly making his way up the hill. Stories from “Kill Bill” and “Ghost Face Killa” ran through my head (the monk who did not acknowledge the presence of a fierce warrior – who in turn returned to the temple and killed all of the monks for this offense). As I came closer we made eye contact and I acknowledged him with a slight bow which to my surprise he returned. Disaster averted, I hurried back to the apartment. In the end I opted for grilled cheese and threw what I suspected as yogurt in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

